2024 Sally Chapin Piano Competition: Celebrating Excellence at the Piano

Groton Hill Music School is pleased to offer our most advanced piano students the opportunity to participate in our Sally Chapin Piano Competition and be recognized for their excellence in performance. Students are recommended by their teachers for participation in the annual event.

This year’s competition was held on Sunday, April 7 in Meadow Hall with guest adjudicators Sandra Hebert and Lydia Reed-Guertin. Groton Hill Music School Piano Department Chair Christina Dietrich once again served as coordinator and host of the competition.

“We’re so proud of our Groton Hill piano students,” said Pete Robbins, Groton Hill’s Director of Education and Programs. “It takes countless hours of intense practice to participate in a competition. The experience enhances students’ performance abilities while helping them to develop transferable skills like grit, time management, and perseverance in the face of obstacles and distractions.”

There were 20 outstanding entrants in three divisions, ages 9 – 16. Music School Merit Scholarships were awarded to 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners selected in each category, plus honorable mentions. Seven Groton Hill faculty piano studios were represented: Christina Dietrich, Niva Fried, Pamela Hines, Eric Kamen, Tim Shetler, Jenny Tang, and Sarah Tocco.

The Division I winners were: 1st Place: Tim Li, 9 (Westford), 2nd Place: Leo Chen, 10 (Wayland), 3rd Place: Maya Shaikh, 9 (Bolton). Honorable Mention: Evelyn Shen, 9 (Westford).

Division II: 1st Place: Hayley Fan, 12 (Billerica), 2nd Place: Ryan Zhao, 11 (Westford), 3rd Place: Eric Zhao, 14 (Groton), Honorable Mentions: Yihong Li, 12 (Westford) and Edward Yang, 13 (Westford).

Division III: 1st Place: Julia Zhou, 16 (Boxborough), 2nd Place: William Wang, 16 (Groton), 3rd Place: Colin Miranda, 16 (Ashby), Honorable Mentions: Eric Feng, 15 (Boxborough) and Joshua Yu, 16 (Acton).

About the competition: In 2016, longtime Concord piano teacher Sally Chapin (1931-2017) presented her family’s cherished 1889 Steinway grand piano to our Music School. In 2017, after receiving a generous donation from the Chapin family to fund the annual Piano Competition for our students, we named the event in her honor. Groton Hill is grateful for the ongoing generous support of our piano program from Sam Chapin and the Chapin/Gunzenhauser Funds, as well as from the Helen and William Mazer Foundation. Learn more about Groton Hill Music School.

PHOTO CAPTION: On Friday, May 3, the division winners performed their pieces in a Winners Recital in our beautiful Meadow Hall. Pictured below (l-r): William Wang, Yihong Li, Edward Yang, Hayley Fan, Evelyn Shen, Groton Hill Piano Department Chair Christina Dietrich, Colin Miranda, Tim Li, Ryan Zhao, and Julia Zhou. Missing from the photo were Leo Chen, Maya Shaikh, Eric Zhao, Eric Feng, and Joshua Yu.